Lonestar 99-5 FM logo
Get our free mobile app

On Monday, February 22nd, Governor Greg Abbott announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency had approved 31 Texas counties to be added to the President's Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance.

Back on February 13th, the Governor requested assistance for all 254 Texas counties, and on Saturday, February 20th, the White House partially approved the request for a Major Disaster Declaration. That approval included Individual Assistance for 77 counties and for Emergency Protective Measures only in all 254 counties.

Additional counties will continue to be re-requested as the State of Texas continues receiving information from people who have suffered damage from the winter storm event. All Texans are encouraged to fill out the Texas Division of Emergency Management's Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool to help identify damages across the state.

All of the 31 counties included in the newest approval are listed below:

  • Anderson
  • Austin
  • Bosque
  • Bowie
  • Burnet
  • Cherokee
  • Colorado
  • Erath
  • Fannin
  • Freestone
  • Gonzales
  • Grayson
  • Gregg
  • Harrison
  • Hill
  • Houston
  • Hunt
  • Jackson
  • Jim Wells
  • Jones
  • Limestone
  • Lubbock
  • Medina
  • Milam
  • Navarro
  • Rusk
  • Taylor
  • Tom Green
  • Val Verde
  • Washington
  • Wood

Governor Abbott said:

I thank FEMA for their swift approval of these additional counties and for their continued partnership as we ensure Texans have access to relief following the winter storm [...] I urge Texans to use the Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool so that the state can continue to identify damages and fight for the crucial assistance that our communities need.

5 Things to Miss About Lubbock If You Move Away


More From Lonestar 99-5 FM