Thursday morning, the Lubbock ISD Board of Trustees approved the property rate for the upcoming 2015-16 Fiscal Year. For the tenth consecutive year, Lubbock ISD taxpayers will pay $1.235 per $100 valuation. $0.195 of the property tax rate is set aside for debt service and the remaining $1.04 of the tax rate will go to Maintenance and Operations (M & O).

Also, during the board meeting, Amy Stephens, principal at Bayless Elementary, was recognized as one of the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA) state finalists for National Distinguished Principal. The program honors principals who exhibit extraordinary leadership, commitment to their students and staff, service to their communities and contributions to their profession.

Also recognized for outstanding contributions to Lubbock ISD during the board meeting: LISD Council of PTAs President Susan Frazier; Partners in Education Officers Kristi Ward and Mike Moss; and from the LISD Foundation for Excellence, Mark Keator, president; Danny Johnston, finance chairman; James Tate, golf chairman, and Ryan Curry, grants chairman.