Have you ever thought how cool it would be to be the owner of a lion, tiger or bear?

Well, this ain't The Wizard of Oz and we don't know how they do it in Kansas, but in Texas, those three exotic animals, as well as 16 others, are prohibited from being owned privately as pets.  

They are categorized as "wild and dangerous" under the statutes. Here's 19 animals you cannot own as a pet in the Lone Star State:

  • Lion
  • Tiger
  • Ocelot
  • Cougar (the animals only... women of a certain age at your own risk)
  • Leopard
  • Cheetah
  • Jaguar (the sassy cars not included)
  • Bobcat
  • Lynx
  • Serval
  • Caracal
  • Hyena
  • Bear
  • Coyote
  • Jackal
  • Baboon
  • Chimpanzee
  • Orangutan
  • Gorilla
  • Any hybrid animal of any in this division

So, we sometimes think how fun it would be to own a chimpanzee...until you hear stories of them mauling their owners and ripping off their faces and genitals.

As with all wild animals, the key word is wild. They are designed with instincts for survival, so if you're thinking that your lion cub will crawl up in your lap and cuddle like a Disney cartoon, think again. You're just a big piece of meat to them. It's not their fault; it's how they're made. That's why dogs, not coyotes, are man's best friend.

More From Lonestar 99-5 FM