A select few students were added to the Terry Scholars. This group adds up to be only 257 students.

In total, the 2017 freshman Terry Scholar class will be awarded a projected $1,626,000. The Terry Scholarship pays for four years of education for Texas residents attending Texas Tech and several other universities in the state.

The group is highly competitive and looks at not just grades, but also leadership skills and character.

The 15 additions to the Terry Scholars are:

  • Amela Dizdarevic from Plainview, Texas
  • Audrey Taylor from Fort Worth (Paschal High School), Texas
  • Brianna Mendoza from Dumas, Texas
  • Chase Gibson, from Haskell, Texas
  • Colin McLaren from Cibolo, Texas
  • Connell Barnett from Lometa, Texas
  • Hannah Cowan from Cross Plains, Texas
  • Jacie Henefey from D’Hanis, Texas
  • Karrie Oliver from Shallowater, Texas
  • Kaevyn Maple from Lancaster (Seminole High School), Texas
  • Montana Chandler from Crosbyton (Ralls High School), Texas
  • Payton Thomas from Haskell, Texas
  • Sophie Pavlas from Mount Calm (West High School), Texas
  • Steeley Smith from Mason, Texas
  • Trevor Sullivent from Buda (Hays High School), Texas

For more information on the Terry Scholarship Program, visit the website.

More From Lonestar 99-5 FM