Age Requirements For Kids That All Parents In Texas Should Know Part 2
Last week I wrote an article about age requirements in Texas for children that we should all know about. You can read that one here. There seemed to be interest on this subject so I decided to write a follow-up article. I realized as a mother of 3 I'm not as well-versed in the child laws in Texas as I probably should be.
BECOMING LEGALLY EMANCIPATED FROM YOUR PARENTS:
I thought this was just a celebrity kid in Hollywood thing but apparently not. Children can choose to become legally emancipated meaning for one reason or another they choose to be declared a legal adult as a minor child. According to findlaw.com, the minor
must be a Texas resident, 17 years old (or 16 and living apart from one's parents), and able to support and manage one's own affairs.
CAN A CHILD UNDER THE AGE OF 18 LEGALLY GET MARRIED IN TEXAS?
The answer is yes and no. In order to marry on your own in Texas, you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are between the ages of 16-18, you must have parental consent or a court order granting permission to marry. A child younger than 16 must have a court order granting permission.
IN THE EVENT OF A DIVORCE, AT WHAT AGE CAN A CHILD CHOOSE WHO THEY WANT TO LIVE WITH?
In the state of Texas, once the child reaches the age of 12, Texas courts will consider the child's wishes as to whom they would like to live with if they express interest but a child's desire to live with a different parent will also depend on several other factors which you can view here.